Carols – Fingerless Cabeled Hand Warmers

09Nov09
Carols

Fingerless Cabled Hand Warmers

I made these gloves for my grandma. They are pretty simple to make. Hope you enjoy, comment if you have any questions.

Materials:
8 US (5 mm) sized needle
Cable Needle
Medium weight yarn (4) that uses size 8 needles
Used in picture: Caron Simply Soft Paints

Stitch Key:
K – knit
P – purl
6-st LC – slide three stitches to a cable needle, hold in front, knit three, knit three from cable needle
6-st RC — slide three stitches to a cable needle, hold to back, knit three, knit three from cable needle
k2tog – knit two together

**Pattern starts here!**
Right Hand Glove

Cast on 40 sts
Row One knit across
Row Two purl across
Cabled Palm
Row Three k8, p1, 6-st LC, p1, k to the end
Row Four p to last 16 sts, k1, p6, k1, p to end
Row Five k8, p1, k6, p1, k to end
Row Six p to last 16 sts, k1, p6, k1, p to end
Repeat rows 3-6 four more times
Decrease Rows
Row 23 k6, k2tog, p1, 6-st LC, p1, k3, k2tog, k11, k2tog, k to end (37 sts)
Row 24 p to last 15 sts, k1, p6, k1, p2tog, p to end (36 sts)
Row 25 k5, k2tog, p1, k6, p1, k5, k2tog, k8, k2tog, k to end (33 sts)
Row 26 p2tog, p to last 16 sts, p2tog, k1, p6, k1, p to last 2 sts, p2tog (30 sts)
Ribbed Edge
On front side (where cable shows) start rib stitch k2, p3. Repeat for 8 rows.
Row 34 bind off in rib stitch
Fold piece in half, stitch up left side leaving a space for a thumb hole. Weave in ends.

Left Hand Glove
Cast on 40 sts
Row One knit across
Row Two purl across
Cabled Palm
Row 3 k to last 16 sts, p1, 6-st RC, p1, k to end
Row 4 p8, k1, p6, k1, p to end
Row 5 k to last 16 sts, p1, k6, p1, k to end
Row 6 p8, k1, p6, k1, p to end
Repeat rows 3-6 four more times
Decrease Rows
Row 23 k6, k2tog, k11, k2tog, k3, p1, 6-st RC, p1, k2tog, k to end (37 sts)
Row 24 p7, k1, p6, k1, p2tog,  p to end (36 sts)
Row 25 k5, k2tog, k to last 17 sts, k2tog, p1, k6, p1, k2tog, k to end (33 sts)
Row 26 p2tog, p4, k1, p6, k1, p5, p2tog, p to last 2sts, p2tog (30sts)
Ribbed Edge
On front side (where the cable shows) start rib stitch k2, p3. Repeat for 8 rows.
Row 34  bind off in rib stitch
Fold piece in half, stitch up right side, leaving space for thumb hole. Weave in ends.

 

This pattern has been revised, I hope the math/rows add up correctly now! Sorry for the incovience.

More photos:

7 Responses to “Carols – Fingerless Cabeled Hand Warmers”

  1. 1 Willow

    This pattern is awesome, and I’m making my fiancee a pair right now, thanks so much! This is my first time making a cable stitch and your pattern made it easy!

  2. 2 Sandrine

    Hi Maddie,

    How do I adjust for a longer hand?

  3. 3 Susie

    How much yarn did you use?

  4. 4 Karen Stevenson

    Hi Maddiey – wow these are just perfect for me – a beginner knitter too (although I am 53!) Thank you for sharing this pattern – I’ve spent ages looking for something with cable down the middle, just like these that I can make for my friends. I like the other mitts you’ve made as well and the lovely scarf. Regards Karen

  5. 5 Madysen

    Thanks Maddiey! These are great. I’ve been wanting to try cabling for a long while now, but I haven’t wanted to do something too challenging. I’m gonna start on these right after I finish your other pair of fingerlesses!

  6. 6 Hannah Underhay

    Hi there. O.k. … I’m knitting this pattern and I have my little row counter that I adjust after every row – but … I am on row 22 and it says Row 30. I have double checked and I carefully knitted “repeat rows 3 – 6 four more times”. Now if it said six times – I’d be at row 30 – so … do I just skip the 8 rows and adjust my row counter to 30, and then to start with “knit”, when I think that it should be purl, the pattern will continue on the wrong side … so …. what did I do wrong?

  7. 7 maddiey

    It seems I have done my math wrong, and I can change the pattern accordingly. I haven’t knitted in very long time now, but if you were to just continue with the pattern (& ignore the # rows for now) as it says it should come out fine. After repeating rows 3-6 four times, you should be on the “right side” meaning knit that side. If your side is all purls there is a missing row. I hope this helps!

    Maddie


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

